Autumn Book Tag

Many thanks to Sara for tagging us sometime last year (we have a legitimate excuse for our delayed response this time – we wanted to wail til it was Autumn in Australia to do it! 😛

Rules:

  • Answer the questions
  • Link back to the creator (Jenniely)
  • Tag other peopledivider

Hot chocolate – what is your comfort book?

Ngoc: Pride and Prejudice and Harry Potter are my go to comfort reads (well, books 1-4 anyway. After that people start dying sooooo…decidedly not comforting).

tumblr_m8zkw4oQyb1rs0e8po1_r1_500

Nish: I find comfort in romantic novels – with a little bit of angst, an almost break-up 2/3rds of the way through, and a diabetic-inducing resolution. Two of my faves are The Deal by Elle Kennedy and Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

Pumpkin Carving – what is your favourite creative outlet?

Nish: Music for sure. I have played the piano since I was about eight, and have always found it to be so therapeutic. Since I moved out of home I only have my little keyboard with me, but in COVID times I have been reunited with my beautiful Yamaha piano. I just learnt to play Cornelia Street by Taylor Swift last week!

keyboard cat

Ngoc: Photography is pretty much my only creative outlet, since I have zero other talents when it comes to the arts (I wish I could play the piano like Nish!) I started off with food photography and photos for Bookstagram, but these days I mostly just do portrait photography of my friends, family…and my cat! 😛

 

https://www.instagram.com/p/B0ySCOXjh_l/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

Pumpkin Spiced Latte – something you love that others tend to judge

giphy

Ngoc: Food photography! I don’t think anyone’s judging the photos themselves, but I’ve definitely copped some side eye from people when I whip out my DSLR at cafes. They’re probably thinking ‘not another wannabe social media influencer’ – but little do they know, the only thing I’m influencing is where my friends and I will be brunching this weekend 😛✌🏻

Nish: Ngoc does amazing food photography and I judge anyone who judges her!! (Ngoc: *cries in friendship*) Mine is super similar actually, it’s tourists taking photos. I am nowhere near Ngoc level photo quality, but you bet I AM that tourist that takes photos of literally anything I think looks cool. When people get annoyed, I’m like whyAm I hurting anybody? *noises of confusion*. I not only love taking my own tourist photos, but will happily be that person that takes photos for random families or people I meet.

Bonfire Night – what makes you explode with joy?

Nish: I am a crier – if I get super joyful, tears will literally explode from my eyeballs. And something that makes me very happy and very tearful is my dog. He’s a golden retriever, and was my 9th birthday present, and will forever be the best gift I have ever received. He is also very photogenic (especially if treats are involved). 

IMG_2057Like how can you not love that little face???

Ngoc: Ok this is super basic but…sunny days make me inexplicably happy. And not just regular happy – oh no. I’m talking about smiling to myself, skipping down the street, feeling absolutely effervescent kind of happy. (When I was in high school, my friends used to call me a plant. Y’know. Cos they photosynthesise for energy. Yup). 

Scarves – your Autumn ‘must have’ accessory 

Nish: Coming from Melbourne, we do not have a traditional autumn. 4 seasons, 1 day and you dress for them all…What I do take everywhere is my Frank Green keep cup (the most Melbourne thing ever I know) for those sneaky coffees, teas and everything in between.

coffee

Ngoc: So I got a Hufflepuff scarf when I watched the Cursed Child play in Melbs last year…and I basically wear it every chance I get (the colours are super toned down so it’s not the traditional fluoro yellow and black Hufflepuff vibe 😂). Like as soon as my spidey senses detect so much as a breeze, I be whipping out my scarf and pretending I’m Newt Scamander.

Fire – a book or film that burns your soul

Ngoc: Pride and Prejudice – both the book and the BBC adaptation (nothing against the Keira Knightley version, I just think the BBC one was more faithful to the book). THE TENSION. THE ANGST. THE SLOW-BURN ROMANCE.

giphySpontaneous combustion imminent

Nish: The Mara Dyer series aka Nish’s favourite series of all time that she will never stop talking about.

Ngoc: Can confirm my soul was burned to a crisp reading this series.

book love

Toffee Apples – a book or film that seems one thing but really has a different inside

Ngoc: Night Owls by Jenn Bennett –  I thought I was signing up for just another cute YA contemporary. I definitely wasn’t expecting to be so touched by the story or the strong family themes in the books. It’s still one of my favourite YA books of all time!

Nish: There’s one film that is one of my favourite films ever – The Blind Side. For a movie heavily about sports (something I do not vibe with), this movie is so heartwarming and beautiful that I unexpectedly loved it, and will continue to for a long, long time.

divider

Thanks for stopping by and reading our answers to the Autumn Book tag 💖. We would love to hear your thoughts and comments below!

Tagging our fellow Aussie book bloggers 🙂

Alexandra @ Reading By Starlight

Cam @ Camillea Reads

Nen and Jen

With love,

nishandngoc

28 thoughts on “Autumn Book Tag

  1. Happy autumn! [I guess… lol] It’s so weird to think that somewhere on the globe it’s actually not gonna be summer in a month 😀 But autumn is definitely one of my favorite seasons, so you’re lucky guys! 😀

    Your answers are always so funny and make me cackle all the time ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Loved your answers! Food photography and tourist photography are great. When people get annoyed (‘you need to live in the mOmEnT’), well I’m here and want to take photos for my friends and family who aren’t so I can give them visuals to go along with what I tell them, why is that a problem? I love music and taking photos too, though mainly just for booksta 😅

    Liked by 1 person

  3. your answers to all these questions are SO adorable!! Harry Potter is definitely one of my comfort reads (although i totally agree, after book 4 it gets quite intense), and oh my goodness, Nish, your dog is SO CUTE!! 🥰🥰 also, that Hufflepuff scarf sounds beautiful! i love muted yellows 😊

    this tag was so fun! oh, and hello!! i just found your blog, but it is so cute and i absolutely love both of your personalities! 💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for tagging us in the first place! Sorry we responded so late (for once we have a semi-valid excuse haha 😂)

      Ngoc’s photography is so beautiful! And thank you, he is very, very cute and he knows it 😂.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      💚 Nish

      Like

  4. This is such a cozy tag! I love it 💖 dogs definitely make me smile as well, also cats and birds and turtles and generally every pet ever. Animals are just so adorable!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. This is such a cute tag !! Playing the piano is really cool, I used to play the guitar a bit (like a very small amount) but I definitely think it is awesome to learn an instrument and learning Taylor Swift sounds so fun !!
    Wow photography is also amazing, I do a bit on bookstagram but your photo looked stunning !! I think food photography is really cool and I also feel like taking pictures makes every look at you but I try to ignore them !! haha. I’m the same with travel photography I will take excessive photos of every little thing, it really is addictive !!
    Yay I love a Hufflepuff scarf, I always get my ravenclaw one out !! 😉
    This was so fun to read !! ❤

    Like

  6. Oh, I’m so excited to read Pride and Prejudice!! I attempted it at like, ten years old… lol, it didn’t go well at all. But now that I’m older and (hopefully) smarter, I’ll be able to appreciate the story in all its glory! Also, I’ve definitely been guilty of low-key judging people for taking a picture of everything they see/eat. 🙈🙈 But reading this post really opened my eyes to how stupid I was being! Taking pictures really doesn’t hurt anyone! Plus, I’ve become That Person who photographs everything thanks to the caitlin reads series, so I now understand what it’s like to be judged 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha yeah although P&P is my fave book of all time, I definitely acknowledge that it’s not for everyone! 🙈

      HAHAHAHA it’s fine! I mean I think it’s ridiculous when people hold up an entire meal for 20mins just so they can get that Instaworthy photo, but I usually just take a few quick snaps, and a lot of the cafes actually use my photos later on their Instagram, so it’s not all for nothing! 😅

      Hahaha yesss welcome to the dark side, Caitlin!! 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    1. YESSS I used to rewatch the BBC miniseries once a year, and now I’ve re-read Pride & Prejudice once a year for the last few years 😍 I’m a certified P&P addict 😛

      Thanks for reading!!

      💛 Ngoc

      Like

  7. You are so right about Melbourne not having a “traditional autumn” – my claret ashes have only just turned. And winter is only 11 days away. Let that one sink in Northern Hemisphere. Despite the cold, I absolutely love the crisp colors of autumn. Just yesterday I was having an isolation Instagram moment with the dappled sunlight through the leaves. The only thing missing in Australia is out Pumpkin Spice Lattes [yes – I am super basic]! 😂

    And isn’t Harry Potter such an autumn-y series? It always [see what I did there???] gives me all the fall vibes. 🍂

    Also, would you believe I’ve never seen the BBC adaption of Pride and Prejudice??? I Know – WHAT?!?!?! Especially because I always swoon hard over Colin Firth. I’m thinking I’m going to have to watch it asap! 😂

    Thanks for the tag lovelies! I hope you’re having a cozy autumn!
    💙 Your saltmate x

    Like

    1. HAHAHA WHAAAAAT??? This is why I’m always telling Nish, as much as I love her & Melbs, I don’t think I could ever give up Perth’s reliable weather 😂 UM I AM ALSO BASIC & TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU!! I want to try a pumpkin spice latte so badly 😭 I feel like it’s some sort of Autumnal rite of passage & we’re just missing out here 💔

      HAHAHA I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE!! And YES I agree, HP is the ultimate cosy readddd 😍

      AWWWW NO GIRL YOU’RE MISSING OUT!!! It used to be on Aus Netflix but I just checked & it’s not there anymore 😭💔 This is a tragedy – next time I come to Melbs we need to marathon this hahaha 😂

      Love always, your saltmate

      💛 Ngoc

      Like

    1. Awww thank you so much Marie! I feel like Night Owls is so underrated – everyone’s always talking about how much they love Starry Eyes but I actually loved Night Owls infinitely more 🙈

      💛 Ngoc

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Omg, I feel that in my soul – I honestly struggle so much with keeping up to date with everyone’s blog posts so don’t even worry, I completely understand!

      Thank you so much! The indidividual graphics are from Creative Market & then I designed the blog header using Photoshop 😀

      Awww thank you!! And yes Nish’s dog is the CUTEST & his name is Rocky!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🥰

      💛 Ngoc

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Yaaas Pride and Prejudice forever ❤️ It’s one of my comfort reads and people always look at me like I’m crazy because they don’t get how Austen/a classic can be comforting 🙄 Haha I loved both of your answers all the way through. Your personalities and friendship really shine through and it’s such a joy to read! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahahaha I’ve never considered that a classic COULDN’T be a comfort read but I can understand how they wouldn’t be everyone’s cup of tea 😅

      Awww thank you so much, we had so much fun answering the questions so I’m glad it showed! 🥰

      💛 Ngoc

      Like

Leave a comment